ENERGY STAR Expands to High-Rise Multifamily Buildings

11/16/2011 |

High-rise multifamily residences are now available for ENERGY STAR certification, a designation previously awarded only to single-family homes and units in low-rise multifamily buildings.

New or substantially rehabilitated buildings can qualify by meeting the EPA’s energy efficiency guidelines and verifying that they are at least 15% more energy-efficient than ASHRAE’s energy standard. Each structure should include a combination of efficient improvements, including:

  • Effective insulation systems
  • Properly sized HVAC equipment
  • Tight construction and ducts
  • ENERGY STAR qualified lighting and appliances
  • High-performance windows

An independently licensed engineer or architect must also verify that requirements are met. For more information, visit


Related Coverage