GSA LEED Gold Certification for Federal Buildings

11/09/2010 |

GSA LEED Gold Certification for Federal Buildings

The U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) is upgrading requirements in all new federal building construction and renovation to a minimum of LEED Gold certification.

“Sustainable, better-performing federal buildings can significantly contribute to reducing the government's environmental footprint,” says Robert A. Peck, GSA's Commissioner of Public Buildings. “This new requirement is just one of the many ways we're greening the federal real estate inventory to help deliver on President Obama's commitment to increase sustainability and energy efficiency across government.”

Projects funded prior to FY 2010 in design will be required to incorporate LEED Gold into ongoing design, taking budget and schedule constraints into consideration.  GSA’s Facilities Standards will reflect the changes by the end of the calendar year.

GSA leased properties will remain at a LEED Silver certification requirement for new projects of 10,000 square feet or more. Featuring a portfolio of 9,600 federally owned and leased facilities, the new LEED Gold requirements will have a significant impact moving forward with advances in sustainable design.

GAS Invests $1 Billion in Recovery Act Construction Projects Nationwide

GSA Names 1st Chief Greening Officer

Top 10 LEED Projects (2009)

Excellence in Federal Architecture Recognized at GSA Awards

Related Coverage