DOE Establishes Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC)

11/17/2010 |

DOE Establishes Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC)

The DOE has established the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC), a federal advisory committee that will report directly to the Secretary of Energy.

"We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable people volunteering their time and efforts to the Department's clean energy endeavors," says Secretary Steven Chu. "They will be contributing their expertise and experience to help address the energy challenges faced by our Nation."

The ERAC will be focused on:

  • Completing long-range plans
  • Priorities and strategies
  • Program funding

The ERAC’s 19 members are expected to meet twice a year. The members of the ERAC come with a wide range of experience and expertise and include:

Yet-Ming Chiang Kyocera Professor of Ceramics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lonnie Edelheit Senior Vice President, Research & Development, General Electric Company (Retired)

Ira Ehrenpreis  General Partner, Technology Partners

Philip Giudice Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources

Hal Harvey CEO, ClimateWorks Foundation

Mark Jacobson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director, Atmosphere/Energy Program, Stanford University

Jay Keasling CEO, Joint BioEnergy Institute and Professor, University of California, Berkeley

Neal Lane The Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Rice University

Ed Lazowska Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in Computer Science & Engineering, University of Washington Richard Lester Japan Steel Industry Professor, Head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and faculty co-chair and founding Director of the Industrial Performance Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Kathleen McGinty Operating Partner, Element LLC

Arati Prabhakar Partner, U.S. Venture Partners

Stanley Pruss Partner, 5 Lakes Energy LLC

Burton Richter Paul Pigott Professor in the Physical Sciences Emeritus, Senior Fellow Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies, Stanford University; and Director Emeritus, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Arthur Rosenfeld Distinguished Scientist Emeritus, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Janette Sadik-Khan Commissioner, New York City Department of Transportation

Subir Sanyal President and Manager of Reservoir Engineering Services, GeothermEx, Inc.

Maxine Savitz General Manager, Honeywell/AlliedSignal (Retired)

Mark Stoering Vice President, Portfolio Strategy & Business Development, Xcel Energy

ERAC meetings will be open to the public. 

Learn more about the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee

DOE Boosts Development of Innovative Geothermal Technology

Ocean Renewable Energy Projects

Related Coverage