Excellence in Federal Architecture Recognized at GSA Awards

03/26/2009 |

The U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) honored 18 projects at its biennial Design Awards ceremony at the Ronald Reagan Building in Washington, D.C., last week. Los Angeles-based architect Mehrdad Yazdani chaired a jury of private design, construction, and art professionals that reviewed more than 80 projects for this cycle of GSA’s Design Awards. The submissions spanned 13 categories, including architecture, preservation, engineering, sustainability, interior design, art, urban design, and construction.

“These projects represent the best of the best of GSA’s work for its federal agency customers and the American people,” said Paul Prouty, acting administrator of GSA. “They embody GSA’s goals to create superior workplaces, develop creative solutions, and implement cost-effective acquisition services and management policies.”

The complete list of GSA award-winning projects include:

Wayne Lyman Morse U.S. Courthouse, Eugene, OR
Architecture, Honor; Construction Excellence, Honor; Art in Architecture, Honor; Graphic Design/Signage, Citation

San Francisco Federal Building, San Francisco, CA
Architecture, Honor; Sustainability, Honor

U.S. Courthouse, Springfield, MA
Architecture, Citation

U.S. Land Port of Entry, Raymond, MT
Architecture, Citation

U.S. Courthouse, Austin, TX
Architecture—On the Boards, Citation

U.S. Land Port of Entry, Donna, TX
Architecture—On the Boards, Citation

U.S. Land Port of Entry, Warroad, MN
Architecture—On the Boards, Citation

U.S. Land Port of Entry, Massena, NY
Architecture—On the Boards, Citation

U.S. Courthouse, Alpine, TX
Lease Construction, Citation

Bryon G. Rogers U.S. Courthouse, Denver, CO
Modernization, Citation

Richard Bolling Federal Building, Kansas City, MO
Modernization, Citation

U.S. Post Office and Courthouse, Brooklyn, NY
Preservation, Honor

Anthony J. Celebrezze Federal Building, Cleveland, OH
Landscape Architecture, Citation

Art in Architecture Book
Graphic Design/Signage, Citation

For more information about the GSA Design Excellence Awards, visit www.gsa.gov.

Related Coverage