And the Winner is …

April 3, 2006

Congratulations go to Senior Associate Editor Leah B. Garris, Art Director Elisa A. Geneser, and Senior Designer Scott Easton on their 2006 Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Award from the New York City-based American Business Media. They were recognized by American Business Media on March 23 at The Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City.

Leah was saluted by a distinguished board of judges for her feature article in the February 2005 issue of Buildings, “Make-or-Break Steps for Disaster Preparation.” The judging panel, chaired by Marshall Loeb, columnist, MarketWatch from Dow Jones, selected 32 Neal Award winners out of 101 finalists from an original 1,250 entries.

Paying tribute to the winning editors, American Business Media President and CEO Gordon T. Hughes says, “These journalists and editors deserve high praise indeed. Their expertise, skill, and successful track records of informing the industry on issues of importance place them at the forefront of their fields.”

Often hailed for its preeminence as the “Pulitzer Prize of the business press,” the Neal Award is the business publishing industry’s salute to outstanding editorial excellence. Winning entries are selected for contribution to the field the publication serves, as well as for journalistic enterprise and editorial craftsmanship.

The Jesse H. Neal National Business Journalism Awards were created by American Business Media to recognize and reward excellence in independent business publications. The awards are named after American Business Media's first managing director who remained active in promoting the business press throughout his life.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Buildings, create an account today!

Sponsored Recommendations

Building Better Schools

Download this digital resource to better understand the challenges and opportunities in designing and operating educational facilities for safety, sustainability, and performance...

Tips to Keep Facility Management on Track

How do you plan to fill the knowledge gap as seasoned facility managers retire or leave for new opportunities? Learn about the latest strategies including FM tech innovations ...

The Beauty & Benefits of Biophilic Design in the Built Environment

Biophilic design is a hot trend in design, but what is it and how can building professionals incorporate these strategies for the benefits of occupants? This eHandbook offers ...

The Benefits of Migrating from Analog to DMR Two-Way Radios

Are you still using analog two-way radios? Download this white paper and discover the simple and cost-effective migration path to digital DMR radios that deliver improved audio...