65a69b19ff568d001e0812c3 Bi2022 Meet The Keynotes Final

NIBS announces Building Innovation 2022 keynotes

Aug. 1, 2022
At BI2022, Smart Buildings Technology (SBT) editorial director Wanda Lau will present on findings from SBT’s study on the adoption of smart building technology.

The National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS) announced that it has finalized the keynote speakers for its Building Innovation 2022 (BI2022) conference, to be held from Sept. 26-28 at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C.

BI2022 is billed as "one of the premiere meetings for all who impact the built environment to find solutions." You can view the conference schedule here.

The BI2022 keynotes have been announced as follows:

  • Deanne Criswell, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Kelly Alvarez Doran, Senior Director, Sustainability & Regenerative Design, MASS Design Group, and Director, Ha/f Research Studio, University of Toronto
  • Stacy Smedley, LEED AP BD+C, Executive Director, Building Transparency, and Senior Director, Sustainability, Skanska USA Building

The NIBS team says it is finalizing BI2022 preparations. Conference programming is built around three tracks: resilience, technology, and building performance and sustainability.

“Building Innovation allows for professionals from across the built environment to meet, network, and learn about new strategies, trends, and technologies,” said Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, interim CEO of NIBS. “We are proud to present this year’s keynote speakers – leaders who are moving the built environment in very important ways for the nation’s benefit.”

Notably at BI2022, on Sept. 27 from 12:45 - 1:45 p.m., Smart Buildings Technology (SBT) editorial director Wanda Lau will co-present on the findings of SBT’s study on the adoption of smart building technology.

At BI2022, NIBS also will announce the winners of the following awards:

  • NIBS Distinguished Service
  • Exceptional Woman in Building
  • Future Leaders
  • NIBS Innovator
  • NIBS DEI Leadership,
  • The Mortimer M. Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award

Two recipients of the Betty and Mort Marshall Memorial Scholarship will also be named. The scholarship was established to promote diversity in the building sciences and benefit students pursuing a career in architecture and engineering at a Historically Black College or University (HBCU).

Building Innovation 2022 sponsors include:

  • The International Code Council
  • Dell Technologies
  • Tremco Construction Products Group
  • 84 Lumber
  • BSI
  • Session Board
  • Procore Technologies
  • Evolve Stone
  • PCI
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials
  • Green Building Initiative
  • The Marshall Group, Ltd.
  • ASTM International.

Building Enclosure is the BI2022 media partner. For more information, visit Building Innovation 2022 and

For more news, projects, and profiles in the smart buildings ecosystem, subscribe to the SBT newsletter and follow us on LinkedInTwitter, and Facebook.

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Buildings, create an account today!

Sponsored Recommendations